How to Raise a Reader: 5 Tips for Parents

This is a great article for parents who want to “raise readers.”

Delightful Children's Books

When my son Jack was in preschool, he read Charlotte’s Web aloud fluently to his classmates. When he was in kindergarten, he began disappearing into his room for a few hours every afternoon to read. My son is known for being a reader — for having his nose in a book. He is a kid who devours books.

Friends see my son, and they ask me from time to time how I did it. How did I raise a reader?

How to Raise a Reader: 5 Tips for Parents | Delightful Children's Books

My friends have expressed a variety of concerns about their kids’ reading habits. “My kid is not interested in reading. He only wants to play Minecraft.” “My kid only reads X, when I know she is capable of reading Y.” “My kid is lazy. He only wants me to read books aloud to him.”

I am hesitant to give my friends advice largely because I think my son sets the…

View original post 1,357 more words

Leave a Reply

